Tha Sports Junkies 101

NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2019 Nominees Announced

Photo by Jayson Cassidy via Flickr


10 years ago, the inaugural class was inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame. Today, the 20 nominees for the Class of 2019 were announced. Among these individuals are drivers, owners, and engine builders. Each of them has left a memorable legacy on the sport of stock car racing.

In May, the Hall of Fame voting committee will meet in Daytona Beach, Florida. At this meeting, they will decide upon the 5 inductees.

First-Time Nominees

5 first-time ballot members make up the Class of 2019 nominees. This includes drivers Jeff Gordon and Harry Gant. Joining them are John Holman and Ralph Moody, the founders of Holman-Moody Racing. The final first-time nominee for 2019 is Kirk Shelmerdine, the crew chief who guided Dale Earnhardt to 4 championships.

Team Owners

The Class of 2019 nominee list includes several team owners, both active as well as former. Active team owners named to this list include Jack Roush, Joe Gibbs, and Roger Penske. In addition to them, former Cup Series team owner and engine builder Ray Fox is nominated.


As is typical, this class of nominees is certainly driver-heavy. Of the drivers on next year’s nomination list, they include several champions across many racing series. Cup Series drivers include Ricky Rudd, Buddy Baker, Davey Allison, Red Farmer, Alan Kulwicki, and Bobby Labonte. Hershel McGriff, Larry Phillips, and Mike Stefanik also comprise this list.

Remaining Nominees

Finally, championship engine builder Waddell Wilson and Crew Chief Harry Hyde round out the nominee list. In summation, this nomination class is as diverse as ever, with drivers, team owners, crew chiefs, as well as an engine builder.

Landmark Award Nominees

The 5 nominees were also announced for the 2019 Landmark Award. This award is for those with outstanding contributions to NASCAR. The nominees are Barney Hall, Janet Guthrie, Alvin Hawkins Sr., and Ralph Seagraves. In addition to the 5 inductees, the nominating committee will vote on the Landmark Award’s recipient.

In the 9 year history of the NASCAR Hall of Fame, no inductee has been unanimous. However, that has the potential to change this year, as Jeff Gordon is all but a lock for induction.

Stay tuned to TSJNASCAR for continuing coverage of the 2019 NASCAR Hall of Fame induction. We were able to provide all-access coverage for the 2018 Induction Ceremony, and we hope to bring even more from the 2019 ceremony.