Tha Sports Junkies 101

4 Important Headlines For the 2018 WNBA Season

WNBA John Mac via Flickr


2018 WNBA Season Preview

May 18th, the 22nd season of the WNBA will be underway. On May 20th, the league will feature a WNBA All Day campaign sponsored by Verizon which will showcase all 12 teams playing the same day.

Last year’s WNBA finals ended with the Minnesota Lynx defeating the Los Angeles Sparks in a five-game series. Winning last year’s finals gave the Lynx their fourth title in franchise history. During the 2018 season, 33 games will be broadcasted on ESPN networks. The 33 games will consist of 13 regular-season games, the postseason and All-Star break, per NBA Communications.

WNBA All Day will be used as a hashtag around the league to help promote and broadcast all of the live action around the association. The 2018 WNBA season is something you do not want to miss and there are four things fans should look forward to this season.

WNBA All Day Opening Day:

On Opening Day, the Dallas Wings will travel to the Talking Stick Resort Arena to take on the Phoenix Mercury at 10 p.m. ET. Both Brittney Griner and Diana Taurasi were selected as all-stars last year. Last season Griner averaged 20.2 points, 7 rebounds and 1.6 blocks per game, according to

Will the two all-stars be able to carry the Mercury to a fourth WNBA championship? The Mercury will have a tough task against a Dallas team who looks to improve this year after finishing last season with a 16-18 record.

I’m sure Dallas guard Skylar Diggins-Smith and Glory Johnson will have something to say about that. Both Johnson and Diggins-Smith averaged more than 10 points a game last season. The Wings also have a solid supporting cast of Aerial Powers, Karima Christmas-Kelly and Theresa Plaisance.

Future Hall of Famer Taurasi finished last season averaging 17.2 points, 2.8 rebounds and 3.8 assists per game, per

2017 WNBA Finals Rematch:

Sunday, May, 20th the WNBA All Day campaign will kick off with a 2017 finals rematch between the Lynx and Sparks. Last year’s finals stretched out to a game five. Game one was decided by a last-second bucket by Sparks guard Chelsea Gray with two seconds left on the clock.

The Lynx would come back in game two with strong efforts from Maya Moore, Rebekkah Brunson, Sylvia Fowles, Seimone Augustus and Lindsay Whalen. Whalen would lead the team with 14 points, 3 rebounds and 2 assists, per Brunson sealed the deal with a significant steal in the final seconds of the game.

In game three Sparks forward Nneka Ogwumike finished the game with 16 points, 10 rebounds and 5 assists, per Ogwumike’s double-double helped lead the team to victory in addition to Candance Parker, Odyssey Sims and Gray pouring in double digits.

Game four Lynx center Fowles recorded her fourth straight double-double. The center would finish the game with 22 points, 14 rebounds and 1 assist, per The dominant center led her team to a double-digit victory.

The Lynx would go on to win their fourth championship. Fowles closed game five and the series with another double-double. The former Louisville Cardinal would receive MVP finals honors. The two teams will face off May 20th at 5:00 pm at the Target Center in Minneapolis and the game will be aired on ESPN 2.

The San Antonio Stars are going to Las Vegas:

That’s right the Stars will be relocating to Vegas this season.  On WNBA All Day, the team will make their debut when they square off against the Connecticut Sun at 1 p.m. ET.

Before becoming the Aces the team was founded in Salt Lake City, Utah. From 1997-2002 the team was known as the Utah Starzz. From 2003-2013, the organization was known as the San Antonio Silver Stars and would later change their name to the San Antonio Stars after the 2013 season.

The Aces are owned by MGM Resorts International. Currently, the roster includes Kayla Alexander, Cierra Burdick, Nia Coffey, Sydney Colson, Dearica Hamby, and Isabelle Harrison. The second half of the roster consists of Sequoia Holmes, Moriah Jefferson, Kayla McBride, Alex Montgomery, Shay Murphy and Kelsey Plum.

A New Home for the Chicago Sky:

At the end of last season, the Sky finished with a 12-22 record. The team also ended the season on a four-game losing streak. Since the team was founded in 2006, Chicago has won one conference title. The young team is trying to take the next steps and play at a consistent level throughout the season.

Allie Quigley, Stefanie Dolson and Courtney Vandersloot led the team in scoring. The three combined for an average of 42.4 points per game last season, per Hopefully moving to the Wintrust Arena will provide the team with a fresh start. The team will play their first home game against the New York Liberty, May 20th at 7 p.m. ET.

Get your popcorn ready for WNBA All Day.