Tha Sports Junkies 101

Votto to Receive Tip O’Neil Award

Votto Geoff Livingston via


Votto lands 6th Tip O’Neil award

Before Monday night’s game in Toronto, the Cincinnati Red’s first basemen Joey Votto will be presented with the Tip O’Neil award by the Canadian Baseball Hall of Fame. This will be Joey Votto’s 6th Tip O’Neil award in the past 7 years. The award is handed out yearly by the Canadian baseball hall of fame to a Canadian player who has excelled on an individual level, as well as helping their team while being held to baseballs highest ideals off the field.

Votto would face stiff competition this year from Russel Martin, Michael Saunders, AA player of the year Tyler O’Neil and the National Women’s team MVP Amanda Asay. Votto first won the award when he split it with John Axford in 2011.

His .326 bating avg was best in the National League. He also became only the 7th player in history to hit  over.400 after the all star break. Votto would also lead the NL in OBP (.434) and times on base with 294. He would also finish second in OPS, and walks. It was only the 16th time that a Canadian would complete a season with a batting average over .300, OBP of over .400 and slugging percentage of over .500

Votto would go on to finish 7th in National League MVP voting as well being nominated for the Hank Aaron award, as the leagues top hitter.

For all his great contributions on the field Votto would go on to match those off the field as well. He is heavily involved with the Red’s community fund, and the Cincinnati Children’s hospital medical center. Votto was also key in the completion of the Reds brand new Urban Youth training academy.

Tip O’Neil Award

The Canadian baseball hall of fame named the award after James “Tip” O’Neil of Woodstock Ontario. O’Neil was one of the first major league stars when he played with the St. Louis Browns of the American League Association in 1887. He set records in hits, doubles, slugging percentage, and total bases. O’neil also set a major league record with a .492 batting average.  At the time of this record setting season walks were counted as hits. Other past winners of the award are Eric Gange, Russel Martin, Justin Mornaeu, and Larry Walker.