Tha Sports Junkies 101

2017 NASCAR Monster Energy Cup Series Awards



truex jr photo monster energy cup series awards

Photo by sarahstierch

Martin Truex Jr was crowned the Monster Energy Cup Series Awards champion for 2017 amid his peers, his friends, and his “extended family.”

Tonight’s ceremonies opened up with Krista Voda and Rutledge wood of NBC Sports co-hosting the night of the champion’s banquet.

“Historic” – the word used to describe a new first-time champion, a new trophy sponsor, and the exit of a legend, Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Despite other awards shows with flashy talent and emcees who crack lame jokes in a roast style fashion, this year focused on what the fans want to see – the drivers.


Marty Snyder spoke to Kurt Busch and Austin Dillon about their wins at two iconic tracks – Daytona and Charlotte.

The Daytona 500 is a crew chief’s delight with Tony Gibson, and Austin winning at his home track with the Coke 600.

Matt Kenseth, who is not driving next year and Kyle Larson who racked up 4 wins in 2017 spoke to Krista about their seasons along with Jamie McMurray and Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

Jamie Mac said he is very much looking forward to the offseason and spending the holidays with his 2 young kids.

The Round of 8 drivers highlighted Ryan Blaney, Chase Elliott, Jimmie Johnson and Denny Hamlin. Johnson and Hamlin both had disappointing finishes to their seasons.


Recognition was given to Monster Energy Cup Series Awards winners in the following categories:

NMPA Myers Brothers Award – Martin Truex Jr and Sherry Pollex

The Gold Star Family – Ricky and Norene Nishizuki – Their son Reed lost his life serving our country in 2013

First Responders – Las Vegas Metro Police and Clark County Fire & Coroners Office – For their response efforts to this year’s shootings in Las Vegas on October 1st.


The Monster Energy Cup Series Awards given out at tonight’s banquet were as follows in no particular order:

Crew Chief Award – Cole Pearn

Rookie of The Year – Eric Jones

Coors Light Pole Award/Sherman Williams Fastest Lap Award – Kyle Busch

MAHLE Engine Builder Award – Toyota Racing Development

Mobil 1 Driver of The Year – Kyle Larson

MOOG Crew Chief Of The Year – Tony Gibson

Martin Truex also won the American Ethanol Green Flag Restart Award and The Goodyear Award,

The Betty Jane France Humanitarian Award – Julian Maha, Founder of Kulture City, helping children with Autism

A 2017 Manufacturers Championship was awarded to Toyota by Bob Carter, Executive VP of Sales.

Toyota won 8 of the 10 final races in the 2017 season.

NMPA’s Most Popular Driver Award was given to Dale Earnhardt Jr for a record 15th time, but he was also surprised with The Bill France Award of Excellence, an accolade that is not given out every year.


Dale said of his recognition “It always comes back to the fans”

NASCAR’s most popular driver was also on hand to talk about Truex and what kind of champ he is.

He summed it up in three bullet points:

Martin is a  Champion person, a Champion Partner, and a Champion Friend

Mitch Covington of Monster Energy presented Martin with his 2017 NASCAR cup trophy.

NASCAR’s CEO Brian France gave him his championship ring. Yes, even NASCAR has one of those.

The 78 team, Martin and Sherry all have one thing in common, which is their team motto – never give up.

Who knew that a race team started 12 years ago in Denver, Colorado would be gracing the biggest stage in NASCAR’s history.

If you enjoyed this content, please support the writer by making a small donation and keep articles like this coming. You can learn more about the writer below:

Since 2010 I have been covering motorsports for different media outlets, including, The Lawrence Eagle Tribune and WHAV Radio. New England born and raised, following NASCAR is a passion of mine which I hope to turn into a full-time opportunity