Tha Sports Junkies 101

Jimmie Johnson Wins Food City 500 At Bristol

Jimmie Johnson Takes Checkered Flag En Rout To Win, April 2017 NASCARMedia

Jimmie Johnson Claims His First Bristol Win Since 2010.

Jimmie Johnson rolled to his second straight Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series win Monday in the Food City 500 at Bristol. The win was his first at the half mile short track since March of 2010. Clint Bowyer finished second, followed by Kevin Harvick, Matt Kenseth, and Joey Logano rounding out the top 5.

Qualifying for today’s race was rained out and set by the rule book, putting Kyle Larson on the pole when the green flag dropped. The first segment was quiet other than an accident involving Kurt Busch, Chris Buescher, and Reed Sorenson. The race was red flagged for a brief 5 minutes for cleanup. However, Kyle Larson dominated and led every lap en route to the stage win.

The start of stage 2 continued to be a clinic for Larson and the 42 team, leading until lap 203. That was when Martin Truex Jr. overtook him and never looked back for his 5th stage win of the season. But, the stage was when several top contenders fell by the wayside. Kyle Busch suffered a cut tire on lap 210 and suffered minor fender damage. Also on lap 217, an busted oil cooler sent Dale Earnhardt Jr. into the wall and a day done.

In the final stage, Truex Jr. and Logano all split time in the lead. But, that all changed after Kyle Busch again brought out the caution on lap 383. Jimmie Johnson used the restart to his advantage to take the lead and held on until 79 to go when Erik Jones got into the wall. Denny Hamlin would briefly lead after taking two tires on the pit stops.

But, the lead wouldn’t last long for Hamlin as Johnson took it back just laps later. Another caution on lap 468 when Paul Menard spun mixed the field up again. Kevin Harvick stayed out while the leaders pitted and took the field back to green. However, just before 20 to go the 48 car retook the lead one last time and never looked back. Jimmie Johnson took the checkered flag and his 82nd career CUP win, on win behind Cale Yarborough for sixth on the all-time list.