Tha Sports Junkies 101

Kyle Busch Shoots For Laps Led Milestone At Texas Motor Speedway

Photo by Dominick27 via Flickr


Busch Looks To Join Martin Truex Jr On The 2000+ laps led list 

2000 or more laps in a single season is a milestone with a list of drivers a mile long – and hasn’t been done in the  last 28 years.

On Sunday at Texas Motor Speedway, Kyle Busch can duplicate a feat last accomplished in 1989.

Dale Earnhardt and Rusty Wallace both led over 2000 laps in a single season – Earnhardt with 2,735

laps and Wallace with 2,020. Truex is currently at 2,068 laps in addition to Kyle’s current laps led marker at 1973.

Additions to the list have happened 16 times, first beginning in 1963 and ever year up until 1975, where

it skipped to every other year.

27 laps is all Kyle needs to reach the 2000 laps led milestone.

How many drivers have joined the 2000+ laps led club?

Three or more drivers leading 2000 or more laps has happened 4 times since 1963. Below is a list of the drivers

that have accomplished this task:

2017Martin Truex Jr. 2068
2017 Kyle Busch1973
1989Dale Earnhardt 2735
1989Rusty Wallace2020
1982Darrell Waltrip 3028
1982Bobby Allison2423
1980Cale Yarborough2810
1980Darrell Waltrip2022
1978Cale Yarborough3587
1978Darrell Waltrip2173
1975Richard Petty3158
1975Cale Yarborough2542
1974Cale Yarborough3597
1974Richard Petty3099
1973Cale Yarborough3167
1973David Pearson2658
1972Bobby Allison4353
1972Richard Petty2085
1971Richard Petty4967
1971Bobby Allison3559
1970Richard Petty5016
1970Bobby Isaac3179
1969Bobby Isaac5053
1969Richard Petty3057
1969David Pearson2905
1968Richard Petty4242
1968David Pearson3950
1966David Pearson3174
1966Richard Petty2924
1965Junior Johnson3998
1965Ned Jarrett2224
1965Dick Hutcherson2065
1964Richard Petty3534
1964Ned Jarrett3304
1964Fred Lorenzon2375
1964David Pearson2256
1963Fred Lorenzon2419
1963Junior Johnson2396
1963Richard Petty2122

In 1963 and 1965, both Fred Lorenzen and Junior Johnson were part of multiple drivers that led over 2000 laps.

From 1966 through 1972 the list was governed by the King of Motorsports Richard Petty and Bobby Isaac.

The mid 1970’s to early 1980’s was Cale Yarbrough and Darrell Waltrip’s time to shine.

Now it’s up to the 18 car to join the illustrious 11 drivers on the 2000+ laps led list.

Again, he just needs 27 laps led during this Sunday’s AAA Texas 500.

Follow the writer @nascarguy10