Tha Sports Junkies 101

Xfinity Series First-Time Winners Most Since 2014

Photo by Justin.Allgaier via Flickr


2017 has certainly been an interesting season for the NASCAR Xfinity Series. Through 29 races, 16 different drivers have won. This includes 5 Xfinity Series first time winners. This is the most since 2014, and closing in on a series record.

The most first-time winners in a season for the Xfinity Series was 14 in 1982. However, the second-highest mark for first-time winners in a year is 6. This has happened seven times before: in 1987, 1989, 1991, 1996, 2002, 2004, and 2006.

Alex Bowman became 2017’s 5th first-time winner 2 weeks ago in Charlotte. Along with him, the first time winners this season are Ryan Preece (Iowa), Jeremy Clements (Road America), Tyler Reddick (Kentucky), and William Byron (Iowa).

With this in mind comes the question of whether there can be a 6th driver to earn career win number 1 in 2017. The chances of this happening are fairly high. There are 4 races remaining on the Xfinity Series schedule, and half of the remaining Playoff field is winless. The Playoff drivers still looking for their first career win are Brennan Poole, Cole Custer, Daniel Hemric, and Matt Tifft.

The Xfinity Series returns to action this weekend at Kansas Speedway. No driver has ever won their first career race at Kansas, so it would be a historic moment if a winless driver takes the checkers. Kansas will also mark the beginning of the Round of 8 in the Xfinity Series Playoffs.

The Kansas Lottery 300 will be live on Saturday, October 21. The race will air on NBC, MRN, and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio at 3 PM EST.