Tha Sports Junkies 101

Medal Of Honor Recipients To Be Celebrated During Super Bowl LII

Honor recipients TAPS ADMIN Via Flickr


The NFL Will Recognize Medal Of Honor Recipients At The Super Bowl

On Sunday, February 4th the NFL will honor 15 Medal of Honor Recipients during the pre-game festivities of Super Bowl LII. The Medal of Honor is indeed the United States of America’s most prestigious military award. The 15 recipients will be presented during the coin toss and also, will be celebrated throughout the week with many different events. Last year during Super Bowl LI the coin toss was performed by former president George H.W Bush and former first lady Barbara Bush.

A World War II Veteran Will Be In Charge Of The Coin Toss

94-year-old World War II Veteran Hershel Woodrow “Woody” Williams who previously received the Medal of Honor for his acts during the Battle of Iwo Jima will flip the coin surrounded by the Medal of Honor recipients. The pregame festivities will also feature a flyover by the United States Air Force Heritage Flight.

Super Bowl Week Is Always Full Of Different Events

In addition to the coin toss, there will be other events throughout the week. On Tuesday, January 30th from 3-8 pm the NFL will be hosting Military Appreciation Day. The NFL and USAA will announce the winner of the Salute to Service award at the NFL Honors on Saturday, February 3rd. The finalists for the award are Atlanta Falcons wide receiver Andre Roberts, Carolina Panthers head coach Ron Rivera, and Tennessee Titans head coach Mike Mularkey.

NFL and Military Bond

The NFL and U.S Military have significantly worked together for more than 40 years to honor veterans during the Super Bowl. The NFL takes pride in its numerous military projects like the Pat Tillman Foundation, TAPS, USO and the Wounded Warrior Project. As a result, all of these projects have helped to provide resources and positively impact the lives of Veterans and active members. The NFL’s Salute to Service foundation has raised more than 17 million dollars to support military nonprofit organizations since 2011.

It’s Been An NFL Season Full Of Controversy

The controversy that has surrounded the NFL this season is due to the anthem protests that’ve stemmed from last season. AMVETS, a group of Army Veterans spoke out against the NFL. The group wants NFL players to stand during the anthem. In a written response NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell stated that “The NFL is proud to honor our nation’s heroes at Super Bowl LII.”


In conclusion, The 15 recipients are listed below

Bennie Adkins

Don Ballard

Sammy Davis

Roger Donlon

Sal Giunta

Flo Groberg

Tom Kelley

Allan Kellogg

Gary Littrell

Walter Marm

Robert Patterson

Leroy Petry

Clint Romesha

James Taylor

Woody Williams