Tha Sports Junkies 101

Former Eagles Brian Dawkins And Terrell Owens Finalist’s For Hall Of Fame

Former Eagles Brian Dawkins NFL Jeff Kern Via Flickr


Former Eagles safety Brian Dawkins and wide receiver Terrell Owens are finalists for the 2018 Hall Of Fame class.

Brian Dawkins

Brian Dawkins, also known as Weapon X, spent 13 out of his 16 seasons playing for the Philadelphia Eagles. A nine-time Pro Bowler and four-time All-Pro, this is Dawkins first year of eligibility to be inducted into Canton. A Philadelphia favorite due to his leadership on and off the field. Dawkins is known for having completely different personalities on and off the field. This is where his nickname Weapon X came from, and why he was given two lockers. One for ‘Weapon X’, Dawkins on-field persona where he turned into one of the most feared safeties in the NFL, while the other for Brian Dawkins.

Dawkins had a great career, very similar to Troy Polamalu who will be a first-ballot inductee. Dawkins stats speak for themselves with 1,131 tackles, 37 interceptions, 36 forced fumbles, 19 fumble recoveries, and 26 sacks. (per This is comparable to Troy Polamalu with 778 tackles, 32 interceptions, 14 forced fumbles, 7 fumble recoveries, and 12 sacks.

Terrell Owens

Terrell Owens (T.O.) was part of the special 2004 Philadelphia Eagles team who made it to the Super Bowl in 2004. T.O. should be inducted in 2018 after missing out in 2017. The NFL community, for the most part, was surprised that T.O. wasn’t a ‘First Ballot” inductee in 2017. Owens is number two all-time in receiving yards, with 15,934, behind only the great Jerry Rice. NFL insiders said it was his character issues that caused him not to be inducted in 2017, rather than his talent.

Terrell Owens was known for his on-the-field antics as much as he was known for his on-the-field production. T.O. changed the game with his touchdown dances and his ability to make highlight reel plays. Owens is third all-time with 153 touchdowns, only behind Randy Moss and Jerry Rice, so he was dancing in the end zone often.

It will be interesting to see who will be inducted into the Hall Of Fame 2018, but if Dawkins and Owens make the cut there is no doubt they deserve a place in Canton.

Photo by Jeff Kern