Tha Sports Junkies 101

The Best FIFA Football Awards 2017 Winners

The Best FIFA Football Awards Photo credit to Belgium via Flickr

Soccer News

The Best FIFA Football Awards 2017 Winners

London, UK – The Best FIFA Football Awards 2017 winners were announced Monday in London. To no surprise of course as the usual suspects were among the winners.

The Best FIFA Men’s Player

Cristiano Ronaldo won the Best FIFA Men’s Player award 2017. The Portuguese player had without a doubt one of the best years with Real Madrid. His club won back to back Champions League, something never done before since the new format. He also helped win La Liga with the Blancos.

Embed from Getty Images

The Best FIFA Goalkeeper

Gianluigi Buffon won The Best FIFA Goalkeeper 2017. The Juventus keeper, who is still playing at 39 years of age and winning Scudettos and getting his side to Champions League finals. Additionally, his country is in the playoffs for a World Cup berth as well. Keylor Navas and Manuel Neuer came in as runner ups.

Embed from Getty Images

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach

Zinedine Zidane won The Best FIFA Men’s Coach 2017. Also, Zidane outperforms Chelsea manager Antonio Conte and Juventus manager Massimiliano Allegri. The French manager won La Liga and the Champions League. Zidane also won the award twice during his playing career.

Embed from Getty Images

The Best FIFA Women’s Player

Lieke Martens of the Netherlands is The Best FIFA Women’s Player of 2017. Martens proved the most elusive of dribblers and set the tempo for her side. In addition, she has been tremendous for Barcelona since joining the Catalan club. Nevertheless, Deyna Castellanos is destine to be a future winner of the award. Carli Lloyd on the other hand had a tremendous year.

Embed from Getty Images

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach

Sarina Wiegman has been named The Best FIFA Women’s Coach 2017. The other two finalist were Nils Nilesen from Denmark and Gerard Precheur from France. Furthermore, the Netherlands native led her country to the UEFA Women’s EURO 2017 title on home soil. The hosts’ brand of attacking football brought an end to Germany’s run of six successive European trophies.

Embed from Getty Images

The FIFA Fair Play Award

Francis Koné won FIFA Fair Play Award. Kone saved the life of Bohemians goalkeeper Martin Berkovec. Kone gave the opposing player first aid treatment after Berkovec was knocked unconscious in a collision with a team-mate. Additionally, Kone had administered the treatment before in games in Africa and Thailand.

The FIFA Puskás Award

Olivier Giroud won the 2017 Puskas Award for his scorpion kick goal vs Crystal Palace. Additionally, Giroud’s superb ‘scorpion kick’ was voted by fans around the globe as the best goal of 2016-17, succeeding Mohd Faiz Subri.
Embed from Getty Images

The FIFA Fan Award

Celtic supporters won the The Best FIFA Fan award 2017. Borussia Dortmund and FC Copenhagen supporters were in mix for the award. The final match of their domestic league campaign coincided with the 50th anniversary of the side winning the European Cup in 1967. Additionally, fans of the Scottish side organized a stunning 360-degree card display around Celtic Park to honor the “Lisbon Lions”. The Hoops went on to win the match, in the process completing an undefeated league season – part one of their ‘invincible treble’.

Embed from Getty Images

FIFA FIFPro World11

The 11 stars that earned a place in the FIFA FIFPro World11 2017 are: Gianluigi Buffon; Dani Alves, Leonardo Bonucci, Sergio Ramos, Marcelo; Toni Kroos, Andres Iniesta, Luka Modric; Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi, Neymar.