Tha Sports Junkies 101

2016 MLB Cy Young Award Winners

Cy Young Alex Kent via


Max Scherzer and Rick Porcello win the 2016 Cy Young Award

The Cy Young Award is given to the best pitcher in each league based off of their performance during the regular season. Members of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA) vote for who they believe best exemplifies the title of best pitcher in the league. The field of possibilities for the award has been narrowed down to a list of three finalists for each league. This years finalists were:

National League:

Max Scherzer, Kyle Hendricks, and Jon Lester

American League:

Rick Porcello, Corey Kluber, and Justin Verlander

How they were chosen:

These pitchers were chosen because they were the top pitchers in 2016. Every pitcher listed as a finalist has shown great skill at their trade, and they have the numbers to back it up.


National League:

Washington Nationals ace Max Scherzer has been voted as the NL Cy Young Award winner for the 2016 season. Scherzer had a wonderful 2016 season as he went 20-7 with a 2.96 ERA and 284 strikeouts. His 20 wins were the most in the NL, while his 284 K’s were the most in the majors. Scherzer also led the NL with 34 starts and 228.1 innings pitched. With the award, Scherzer becomes just the sixth pitcher to win the Cy Young Award in both leagues. At 32-years old, Scherzer still has some prime years left in his career which means we could see him win this award again in the future.

American League:

Boston Red Sox starting pitcher Rick Porcello has been voted as the AL Cy Young Award winner this season. Porcello bounced back from an awful 2015 campaign to have a 3.15 ERA in 2016. That mark was good enough for 5th best ERA in the American League, while his 1.01 WHIP ranked second in the AL. In 33 starts, Porcello racked up 22 wins compared to just 4 losses. His 223 innings pitched in 2016 was a career high for Porcello, and his three complete games tied his career high for complete games in a season. Only time will tell if this season was a fluke for Porcello who owns a 4.20 career ERA.

What this means:

Both Scherzer and Porcello showed great skill during the 2016 season, and that is why they have been chosen for this award. Scherzer is a candidate for this award just about every season while Porcello has struggled during his career. Maybe winning this award will be the tipping point in the career of Rick Porcello. Both of these pitchers earned this award, and will look to build on their success next season.


On Thursday, November 17th, the BBWAA will vote on the NL and AL MVP’s. TSJ will have coverage of the winners shortly after they are announced.