Tha Sports Junkies 101

2016 MLB Gold Glove Award Winners

Gold Glove Nicholas Gresham via


The 2016 MLB Gold Glove Award winners were announced earlier this week

The Rawlings Gold Glove Award is handed out at the end of each season to recognize the best defensive players in the game of baseball. This year, nine first time winners won the award with Anthony Rizzo becoming the youngest Chicago Cubs player to win a Gold Glove. Here are the winners at each position:


National League – Buster Posey (1st time winner)

American League – Salvador Perez (4th award)

First Base:

National League – Anthony Rizzo (1st time winner)

American League – Mitch Moreland (1st time winner)

Second Base:

National League – Joe Panik (1st time winner)

American League – Ian Kinsler (1st time winner)

Third Base:

National League – Nolan Arenado (4th award)

American League – Adrian Beltre (5th award)


National League – Brandon Crawford (2nd award)

American League – Francisco Lindor (1st time winner)

Left Field:

National League – Starling Marte (2nd award)

American League – Brett Gardner (1st time winner)

Center Field:

National League – Ender Inciarte (1st time winner)

American League – Kevin Kiermaier (2nd award)

Right Field:

National League – Jason Heyward (4th award)

American League – Mookie Betts (1st time winner)


National League – Zack Greinke (3rd award)

American League – Dallas Keuchel (3rd award)

How they were chosen:

Managers and assistant coaches from around baseball vote on who they believe deserves a Gold Glove Award. They can only vote for players in their league, but they can not vote for a player on their own team. This process only makes up a portion of the results, with the other portion decided by a defensive sabermetric statistic.

What they get:

Each winner is presented with a trophy that displays a gold coated Rawlings baseball glove, affixed to a wooden base with the players picture and information engraved on a plague.


Keep checking back with TSJ for complete coverage of the remainder of the 2016 MLB awards.