Tha Sports Junkies 101

2016 MLB Manager of the Year Award Winners

Manager Chris Kim via


Dave Roberts and Terry Francona win 2016 Manager of the Year Award

Similar to the Rookie of the Year Award, the Manager of the Year Award is also voted on by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA). Three managers from each league are voted as finalists, but only one takes home the honor of Manager of the Year. This years finalists were:

National League:

Dave Roberts, Joe Maddon, and Dusty Baker

American League:

Terry Francona, Buck Showalter, and Jeff Banister

How they were chosen:

Each manager was chosen as a finalist because they demonstrated great leadership skills during the season. Of course, those skills are best showcased when the team they manage makes the postseason. All six of these managers lead their teams to the postseason in 2016, with Joe Maddon’s Chicago Cubs taking home the World Series trophy.


National League:

Los Angeles Dodgers skipper Dave Roberts has been voted as the NL Manager of the Year for 2016. Roberts led the Dodgers to a 91-71 record which was good enough to win the NL West Division. The Dodgers overcame a lot in 2016, as they had to use 15 starting pitchers to make it through the season. Even with a ton of injuries, Roberts led the Dodgers to the National League Championship Series where they would lose to the Cubs in six games. Roberts becomes the first Dodgers manager to win Manager of the Year since Tommy Lasorda in 1988.

American League:

Cleveland Indians manager Terry Francona has been voted as the AL Manager of the Year for 2016. Francona led the Indians to an AL Central title over the defending World Champion Kansas City Royals in 2016. The Indians won 94 games in 2016 and came within one win of their first World Series title since 1948. It is amazing that the Indians even made it to the World Series in 2016. Cleveland’s best hitter, Michael Brantley, played in 11 games in 2016 and two Indians were suspended for the use of PED’s. That’s not all either, two of Cleveland’s starters missed time with injuries during the regular season. Those injuries spilled over into the postseason and forced the Indians to work with a three-man rotation throughout the postseason. Even with all that adversity, Francona still found a way to get the Indians to the World Series.

What this means:

These managers displayed great skill and leadership during the 2016 season. Both of them had to overcome injuries to important players on their team, but somehow they still found ways to make their clubs successful. In 2017, we could see the same candidates for this award as these managers continue their great careers.


On Wednesday, November 16th, the Cy Young Award winners will be announced with the MVP Award winners announced the following day on Thursday. TSJ will have full coverage of the winners as soon as they are announced.