Tha Sports Junkies 101

2016 MLB Rookie of the Year Award Winners

Rookie Craig Engleson via


Corey Seager and Michael Fulmer win Rookie of the Year honors

Today, major league baseball announced the winners of the Rookie of the Year Award. Each year, the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA) votes on three finalists. Members of the Association rank the three finalists with first place receiving five points, second place receiving three points, and third place receiving one point. Both the American League and National League have three finalists with one player from each league winning the award every year. This years finalists were:

National League:

Corey Seager, Kenta Maeda, and Trea Turner.

American League:

Michael Fulmer, Tyler Naquin, and Gary Sanchez

How they were chosen:

These rookies were chosen because they did not accumulate at least 130 at-bats, 50 innings pitched or 45 days on an active MLB roster before September 1st, 2015.


National League:

This year, the BBWAA voted Los Angeles Dodgers shortstop Corey Seager as the NL Rookie of the Year. Seager appeared in 157 games for the Dodgers this season and hit .308. He had 26 home runs to go along with his 72 RBI’s and 193 hits. Only two rookies have posted those kinds of numbers; Albert Pujols in 2001 and Hal Trosky in 1934. Seager also had a 6.1 WAR in 2016 and led his team to the NL Championship series. Corey is an MVP candidate for the foreseeable future and is a bright spot for the Dodgers.

American League:

Detroit Tigers starting pitcher Michael Fulmer has been voted as the AL Rookie of the Year. Fulmer started 26 games for the Tigers this season and amassed 159 innings pitched. He racked up eleven wins and worked to a 3.06 ERA in 2016. Fulmer also struck out 132 opposing batters and had a 1.12 WHIP last season. At one point in 2016, Fulmer had a streak of 33.1 scoreless innings pitched. That was the longest such streak by a rookie pitcher since Fernando Valenzuela’s streak in 1981. Fulmer was part of the deal that sent Yoenis Cespedes to the New York Mets at the 2015 trade deadline. So far, that deal has worked out for the Tigers, and it should continue to payoff for Detroit in the coming years.

What this means:

The Rookie of the Year Award is awarded to the best rookies in each league every year. These two rookies have demonstrated great skill in their rookie seasons and have bright futures ahead of them. There has been 128 winners of the award since 1947. Of those 128 winners, 14 of them have been elected to the MLB Hall of Fame. That shows that these rookies have the talent to make great or even legendary baseball players.