Tha Sports Junkies 101

2016 MLB Silver Slugger Award Winners

Silver Slugger Scott Ableman via


The 2016 MLB Silver Slugger Award winners have been announced

Every year, major league baseball hands out the Silver Slugger Award to the best offensive players at each position. Both the American and National Leagues have winners at each position. For the American League, an award is handed out to the best designated hitter in the league, while the best offensive pitcher receives a Silver Slugger Award in the National League. Here is the complete list of award winners for the 2016 season:


National League – Wilson Ramos (1st time winner)

American League – Salvador Perez (1st time winner)

First Base:

National League – Anthony Rizzo (1st time winner)

American League – Miguel Cabrera (7th award)

Second Base:

National League – Daniel Murphy (1st time winner)

American League – Jose Altuve (3rd award)

Third Base:

National League – Nolan Arenado (2nd award)

American League – Josh Donaldson (2nd award)


National League – Corey Seager (1st time winner)

American League – Xander Bogaerts (2nd award)


National League – Charlie Blackmon (1st time winner), Yoenis Cespedes (1st time winner), and Christian Yelich (1st time winner)

American League – Mookie Betts (1st time winner), Mike Trout (5th award), and Mark Trumbo (1st time winner)


National League – Jake Arrieta (1st time winner)

Designated Hitter:

American League – David Ortiz (7th award)

How they were chosen:

Similar to the Gold Glove Award, managers and coaches from around the league vote on who they believe deserves the Silver Slugger Award at each position. Just like with the Gold Glove Award, the voters are not allowed to vote for players on their own team. Prior to voting, the managers and coaches pour over offensive statistics in order to make their final vote.

What they get:

The Silver Slugger Award is a 3-foot tall Louisville Slugger bat shaped trophy that is made of sterling sliver. The bat is affixed to a black stand that also displays the players information and other winners of the award that year.


Continue to check back with TSJ as more 2016 MLB awards are announced.