Tha Sports Junkies 101

2017 NASCAR Hall Of Fame Class Announced

NASCAR and a voting panel voted and chose five more candidates to join the NASCAR Hall Of Fame Wednesday. The NASCAR Hall Of Fame is a who’s who shrine that includes some of the sports best to ever race or be involved in general.

A panel of former drivers and crew, NASCAR executives, industry figures, media and reigning Sprint Cup Series champion Kyle Busch determined the inductees after an afternoon of discussion and balloting on the Hall of Fame’s annual Voting Day. NASCAR Chairman and CEO Brian France (who also voted) delivered the five names in the shrine’s Great Hall, bringing the total to 40 members.

The five inductees are as follows:

  •  Richard Childress. Eleven-time car owner champion in NASCAR’s three national series.
  •  Rick Hendrick. Fourteen-time car owner champion in NASCAR’s three national series.
  •  Mark Martin. 96-time race winner in NASCAR national series competition (Cup And Then Busch/Nationwide Series).
  •  Raymond Parks. NASCAR’s first champion car owner. Parks was also one of five finalists for the Landmark Award.
  •  Benny Parsons. 1973 NASCAR Cup Series champion.

Brian France also announced that H. Clay Earles, founder of Martinsville Speedway, is this year’s recipient of the Landmark Award for Outstanding Contributions to NASCAR. Earles joins Harold Brasington (2016) and inaugural winner Anne B. France (2015) as Landmark Award honorees.