Tha Sports Junkies 101

2018 NASCAR Hall of Fame Nominees



Tonight fans got one step closer to finding out who the NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2018 will include. As tonight the twenty nominees for the Class of 2018 were unveiled.

Alongside the fifteen legendary nominees who have been on the ballot before there are five new names. The new nominees for the NASCAR Hall of Fame include three drivers and two owners. The first of the three new drivers on the ballot is Davey Allison. In his short career, Allison tallied 19 Cup Series wins including the 1992 Daytona 500. Also up for the NASCAR Hall of Fame is Bobby Labonte. Labonte is the first driver in the history of NASCAR to win both a Cup and Xfinity Series Championship. The final new driver to be on the ballot is Red Farmer. While he is not as big of a name as the others Farmer has won a NASCAR Modified championship as well as 3 Sportsman Division championships.

Taking a step away from the drivers of NASCAR there two owners who will be on the ballot for the first time. These owners are Joe Gibbs and Roger Penske. Both owners are still continuing to add to their resumes each week. Joe Gibbs currently has 140 race wins as an owner and 4 championships. Roger Penske has notched 104 race wins and 1 championship as an owner.

Some notable manes who previously found themselves on the ballot include Ron Hornaday who is a 4 time NASCAR Truck Series Champion. Alan Kulwicki who won the 1992 Cup Series Championship as an owner-driver. Three-time Cup Series Champion Crew Chief Ray Evernham. Legendary owner and engine builder Robert Yates is also on the ballot once again. Also, the legendary television and radio personality Ken Squier is also once again on the ballot.