Tha Sports Junkies 101

25th Annual Espy Awards Honors Icons, Athletes and Heroes

ESPY Naveed Jawald via



The 25th Annual ESPY Awards took place with host Peyton Manning opening the show with jokes that he said he refused to read because they were so bad.

He should have stuck to his promise.

The horrible jokes got dished out like sloppy joes by the 6th grade lunch lady, and then it was on to the actual awards.

However, none were given out to any NASCAR drivers like Jimmie Johnson and Martin Truex Jr as I had previously thought.

Awards were, however, given in out in several “Best” categories, including Best Female and Best Male Athletes, Best Team, Best Play, Best Championship Performance, etc.

Here is a list of awards given out last night:


Breakthrough Athlete – Dak Shephard – Dallas Cowboys

Record Breaking Performance – Michael Phelps – Most Olympic Medals Of All Time

Best Male Athlete – Russell Westbrook

Best Female Athlete – Simone Biles


Best Moment – Chicago Cubs, World Series Game 7

Best Championship Performance – Kevin Durant

Bill Murray accepted the award, seemingly still in full party mode from the celebration by coming on stage with a party hat on his head. He toasted “Cub Power, Cub Dignity”

Best Game – Patriots Vs Falcons, Superbowl 51

Best Coach – Bob Hurley Sr, St. Anthony’s High School, Jersey City, NJ


Pat Tillman Award For Service – Master Sgt. Israel “DT” Del Torro Jr – US Air Force – Injured in Afghanistan

Jimmy V Award For Perseverance – Jarius “JJ” Robertson, a 15 year old from New Orleans, LA.

Jarius suffers from biliary atresia, a chronic liver disease that affects his growth.

Known for being a “superfan” of The New Orleans Saints.

In April of this year, after a 12 year wait and one failed liver transplant, Jarius received his liver.


Vin Scully – LA Dodgers announcer – fell in love with the sport of baseball at 8 1/2 years old watching the 1936 World Series and retired after a 65 year career on October 2, 2o16, which was 80 years to the day after he decided he wanted to become a sports broadcaster. Most notably inducted into the baseball hall of fame and received the presidential medal of freedom.

Arthur Ashe Award For Courage – presented by former first lady Michelle Obama.

Given to Eunice Kennedy Shriver, founder of the Special Olympics.

Sister to President John F, Kennedy. Shriver started the first Special Olympics in 1968 in a stadium in Chicago.

Follow @TSJ_Sports

Follow the writer @nascarguy1o