Tha Sports Junkies 101

BBWAA Votes Raines, Bagwell, and Rodriguez Into Hall

BBWAA Votes Raines, Bagwell, and Rodriguez Into Hall Neil R via


BBWAA elects Tim Raines, Jeff Bagwell, and Ivan Rodriguez to baseball Hall of Fame

Today, the BBWAA officially voted Tim Raines, Jeff Bagwell, and Ivan Rodriguez as the newest members of baseball’s Hall of Fame. Raines was on the ballot for the final time in 2017, and received 86% of the vote. Rodriguez earned Hall of Fame honors in his first year on the ballot, while Bagwell earned 86.2% of the vote in his 7th year on the ballot.

Tim Raines was well deserving of the honor, and many believe that he should have received a “hall call” long before now. Raines played 23 seasons in  the big leagues, 13 of them with the Montreal Expos. In his career, Raines hit 170 home runs and drove in 980 runs, but on the base paths is where Raines made his living. He stole 808 bases in 954 attempts during his career. Those steals put him fifth on the all-time stolen base leaderboard behind Rickey Henderson, Lou Brock, Billy Hamilton, and Ty Cobb. His stolen base percentage of 84.7% ranks second all-time with players who have at least 300 stolen base attempts. The outfielder was a seven-time All-star during his career, and won a Silver Slugger Award in 1986. Raines will be the fourth player to represent the Expos in the Hall of Fame, joining Gary Carter, Andre Dawson, and Dick Williams.

Houston Astros great Jeff Bagwell finally got the call to Cooperstown after waiting seven years. The 1994 MVP played his entire 15 year career with the Astros, primarily as a first baseman. Bagwell was durable in his career, playing a full season (162 games) four times (1992, 1996-1997, 1999). Bagwell hit 449 home runs during his storied career which puts him tied for 38th on the all-time home run leaderboard. He had a career .297 batting average with his best average coming in 1994 when he hit .368. His 1,529 RBI’s rank 51st on the all-time list ahead of legends like Mickey Mantle, and Yogi Berra. It is a shame that it took the writers seven years to elect Bagwell into the Hall of Fame. Now that he is in the hall, he will become just the second Houston Astros player in the Hall of Fame.

Receiving 76% of the vote was Ivan Rodriguez. “Pudge”, as he was called, played 21 years in the majors. He racked up 14 All-star game honors to go along with his 13 Gold Gloves that he earned as a catcher. Rodriguez won an MVP award in 1999 with the Texas Rangers as he put up 35 home runs and 113 RBI’s. He hit .332 and had an OPS+ of 125. “Pudge” also had one of his best seasons behind the dish in 1999. He threw out 55% of base stealers and recorded a .993 fielding percentage in over 1,200 innings. During his career, Rodriguez led the American League nine times in caught stealing percentage. In 2001, Rodriguez threw out over 60% of runners trying to steal bases. That was the highest mark of Ivan’s career as he averaged a 46% caught stealing percentage for his career. Ivan Rodriguez will become the only player to represent the Texas Rangers in the Hall of Fame once he is inducted.

Also joining the former players in the Hall of Fame this year will be John Schuerholz and Allan “Bud” Selig. These two were voted in by the Today’s Game Era Committee who votes on players who have fallen off the BBWAA ballot, or, in this case, are former executives and commissioners.

These deserving men will be formally inducted into the Hall of Fame on July 30th, 2017 at 1:30 pm eastern time. The ceremony will be aired on MLB Network and admission to the induction is free.

**Statistics from