Tha Sports Junkies 101

Benny Phillips Announced As Sixth Squier-Hall Award Recipient

Getty Images


On Saturday, NASCAR and the NASCAR Hall of Fame revealed that Benny Phillips would be this year’s Squier-Hall Award for NASCAR Media Excellence recipient. Phillips covered NASCAR for the High Point (NC) Enterprise in various roles during his long tenure with the publication.

Benny Phillips served as a reporter for 48 years and as a sports editor for 32 of those years. He also wrote for Stock Car Racing magazine for 27 years and worked for TBS for 12 years. The Squier-Hall Award is just one of a lengthy list of professional achievements and recognition that Phillips was given during, and after, his prosperous career. He has been named NMPA Writer of the Year 7 times in addition to a litany of other prestigious awards.

NASCAR Chairman and CEO Brian France described Benny as “telling the engaging stories that transformed our drivers into heroes”, referred to him as “a trusted confidant” and “a beloved fixture in the NASCAR garage”. France added “This award has only been given to the giants of his industry and, unquestionably, Benny was exactly that.”

Phillips passed away in 2012, having battled polio most of his life.

The award, chosen by a panel of NASCAR and NASCAR Hall of Fame executives, journalists, former competitors, and public relations representatives, was created in 2012 to honor the contributions of the media to the success of NASCAR. Phillips joins Tom Higgins, Steve Byrnes, Chris Economaki, and the first two recipients, Ken Squier and Barney Hall (for whom the award is named) as those who have been bestowed with this elite honor. Benny was chosen as the winner from among a list of 8 finalists.

Benny Phillips will be honored during the NASCAR Hall of Fame induction ceremony in January. He will also be featured in an exhibit in the Hall of Fame along with other previous winners of the award.