Tha Sports Junkies 101

Brett Favre Headlines 2016 NFL Hall Of Fame Class

Lucky Ned Pepper via Flickr


This Saturday, the NFL will pay homage to eight of the most iconic figures in league history. This year’s star studded group is led by Brett Favre.

In addition to Favre, seven other men will have their names stamped in Canton lore. They are Eddie DeBartolo Jr, Tony Dungy, Marvin Harrison, Kevin Greene, Orlando Pace, Ken Stabler, and Dick Stanfel.

Brett Farve was an absolute legend in Green Bay. Although he had stops in New York and Minnesota, Favre’s best days were as a Packer. He spent 20 years as a quarterback in the NFL.

Originally drafted by the Atlanta Falcons in 1991 with the 33 overall pick, Favre developed into one of the greatest quarterbacks in history.

He was the first quarterback in NFL history to pass for 500 touchdowns, throw for over 70,000 yards, 6,000 completions, and pass attempts.

“The Gunslinger” also holds the record for most consecutive regular season starts with 297. He also is the only player in NFL history, to win the MVP award three years in a row(1995-1997).

Brett Favre was also sacked 525 times in his career. That too is an NFL record. Brett Favre led the Packers to a victory in Super Bowl XXXI.

Ken “The Snake” Stabler is the second quarterback, to be honored in this years class.

Stabler is being posthumously inducted by former coach, and fellow HOF John Madden. Stabler is a former NFL MVP (74′) and Super Bowl XI winner. A member of the NFL’S 70’s All-Decade team, Ken Stabler was a 4-time Pro Bowler an 2-time All-Pro.

Stabler embodied what it meant to be a”star quarterback”. He played under the legendary Bear Bryant at Alabama, and was drafted by the Oakland Raiders in the second round in 68′.

Stabler had a knack for always making the “big play”. He played 14 years in the NFL with the Raiders, Houston Oilers, and New Orleans Saints.

Orlando Pace was one of the premier left tackles of his era. At Ohio State in the mid 90’s, Pace was one of the best players in ALL of college football.

He finished fourth in Heisman voting in 1996. A key cog of the “Greatest Show On Turf”, Pace paved the way for three consecutive MVP’s (Kurt Warner 99′ ,01′) (Marshall Faulk 00′).

A Super Bowl XXXIV champion, Orlando Pace is also a 7-time Pro Bowler and 4-time All-Pro. The former first overall pick in 1997 spent 11 seasons in St.Louis before finishing his career with the Chicago Bears in 2009.

Kevin Greene played 14 seasons in the NFL. He was a nightmare for opposing quarterbacks, suiting up for four different teams. (Rams, Steelers, 49ers Panthers).

Green has the most sacks by a linebacker with 160 and is the oldest player to lead the NFL in sacks with 14.5, at the age of 34 in 1996. He had four double-digit sack seasons after the age of 34.

A former walk-on at Auburn, Green finished his career with five Pro-Bowl invitations and three first team All-Pro selections. Kevin Green is also a member of the NFL’s 1990’s All-Decade team.

Tony Dungy and Marvin Harrison were critical assets to the success of the Indianapolis Colts in the late 90’s and 2000’s. Wide receivers are normally the flashiest and vocal players in football, however, Harrison was one that let his play speak volumes.

Tony Dungy coached the franchise to its only Super Bowl championship.

The 19th overall pick in 96′ out of Syracuse was Peyton Manning’s go to guy in Indy.

He spent all of his 12 years in the NFL, with the Colts. He’s the franchise leader in receptions, (1,102) receiving yards, (14,580) and touchdowns (128). Harrison is a 8-time Pro Bowler and All-Pro.

He also led the NFL in receiving yards and receptions in both categories twice.

Dungy was a former player for the Pittsburgh Steelers and San Francisco 49ers in the late 70’s. He made his greatest impact in the coaching ranks. He was the first African-American head coach to win a Super Bowl (XLI).

He also won a championship with the Steelers. Tony Dungy got his first head coaching position with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in 1996 and constructed one of the more dominant defenses of that era.

He led the Colts from 2002-2008. Dungy set a NFL record with ten consecutive appearances in the playoffs, as a head coach.

Dick Stanfel had a career that spanned over 50 years. As a guard, Stanfel was a 2-time NFL champion, as well as a 5-time All-Pro and Pro Bowl selection.

A 1950’s All-Decade selection, Stanfel played six seasons for the Detroit Lions and Washington Redskins.

He served as an o-line coach for Eagles, 49ers, Bears, and Saints. Stanfel won a Super Bowl with the Chicago in 85′. Under his tutelage, the Bears led the NFL in rushing for three straight years from 1983-85.

Eddie DeBartolo, Jr. is best known as the former owner of the San Francisco 49ers. From 1977-2000, his teams won five Super Bowl titles.

One of the more beloved owners in NFL history, players loved that DeBartolo created a family like atmosphere within the organization.

NFL Network will have complete coverage of the Hall of Fame enshrinement ceremony.

Rich Eisen, HOF’s Michael Irvin and Marshall Faulk, analysts Steve Mariucci and Kurt Warner will host the festivities out of Canton, Ohio. NFL greats Bruce Smith, Chris Doleman, Tim BrownJerry Rice and Mike Holmgren, will also make live appearances.