Tha Sports Junkies 101

Coyotes to hold ceremony commemorating 20 years in desert

Coyotes to hold ceremony commemorating 20 years in desert Charlie Lyons-Pardue via Flickr


The Arizona Coyotes will hold a large celebration for the 20th anniversary of NHL hockey in the desert on February 18, the team stated in a press release.

The team listed at least 12 players that will be in attendance: Keith Tkachuk, Teppo Numminen, Shane Doan, Dallas Drake, Mike Gartner, Cliff Ronning, Nikolai Khabibulin, Craig Janney, Kris King, Oleg Tverdovsky, Jim McKenzie and Mike Stapleton.

The team said in the press release that Jeremy Roenick would not be able to attend because of his commitments to NBC.

The first 10,000 fans to arrive at Gila River Arena will receive a Keith Tkachuk bobble head. The current team will also wear the black jerseys with the katchina logo, just like the ones that were sported by the team in their first seven seasons at America West Arena.

The night before the game, February 17, the Coyotes will host an Arizona Coyotes Foundation charity dinner, in which players from the inaugural season roster will participate in a Q & A session. The session will be hosted by Todd Walsh, who has covered the Coyotes since the team arrived in town in 1996. Fans can purchase tickets for the event by calling 623-772-3241.

Also, the Coyotes will release the All-Time Starting Six roster, in which fans can vote for their favorite three forwards, two defenseman and one goaltender who have played for the organization. Fans can vote at until February 1.

The opponent for that night’s game is the San Jose Sharks, the same team the Coyotes faced in the first regular season home game on October 10, 1996. The Coyotes won the game 4-1 thanks to goals from Doan, Gartner, Janney and King.

Each of the players that will be in at the February 18 game played in the first home game against the Sharks. The only player that is still playing for either team since that game is Doan.