Tha Sports Junkies 101

Ducks, Sharks, Stars can Clinch Playoff Spots Tonight

Capitals can Clinch Top Spot in East with Victory


With roughly about 10 games left for every team in the NHL, the race for the playoffs is in full swing. As of today, the Washington Capitals and Los Angeles Kings are the only teams that have secured spots in the postseason. By the end of the night, however, that number can more than double.

The Anaheim Ducks, San Jose Sharks, and Dallas Stars can all clinch their spots in the playoffs tonight if they get a needed result.

The Ducks have the simplest path to clinching a postseason berth. Anaheim only needs to get a point out of their game against the Montreal Canadiens to reach the playoffs for the fourth straight season. Should they fail to get a point tonight, however, the Ducks can still get in if the Arizona Coyotes lose, in any fashion, to the Edmonton Oilers.

The Sharks and Stars, meanwhile, can get in by their own doing or with some help.

San Jose will clinch a playoff berth if they defeat the St. Louis Blues in any fashion. Another way they can get in is if they get one point against the Blues and the Coyotes lose to the Oilers in any fashion or if the Coyotes lose to the Oilers in regulation.

Dallas will clinch a playoff berth if they defeat the Chicago Blackhawks in any fashion. Like the Sharks, though, the Stars can still get in tonight if they get one point against the Blackhawks and the Minnesota Wild lose to the Kings in any fashion or if the Wild lose to the Kings in regulation.

If and when Dallas and San Jose clinch their postseason spots, it will be a rebound season for both teams as they both missed the playoffs last season.

There is no clinching scenario for an Eastern Conference team, in regards to qualifying for the playoffs, tonight, but the Capitals can clinch the top spot in the conference, as well as in their division, this evening with a win in any fashion against the Ottawa Senators.

A win for Washington will also put them one step closer to clinching the President’s Trophy for the league’s best regular season record.

Photo Credit: Dinur/via