Tha Sports Junkies 101

FIFA Sanction Nations Over Discriminatory Behavior

Photo credit to Forgotten but not gone. via Flickr


FIFA sanction nations over fan behavior during World Cup qualifiers

Zurich, Switzerland – FIFA has imposed sanctions on 11 soccer associations for unsporting and discriminatory conduct by their fans during 2018 World Cup qualifiers, FIFA announced.

Honduras, El Salvador, Mexico, Canada, Chile, Brazil, Argentina, Paraguay, Peru, Italy and Albania have all received fines.

Chile have also been ordered to play their qualifier against Venezuela on March 28 behind closed doors because this is the second infringement this year. Chile will appeal the ruling. In addition, the Chilean FA was fined a total of CHF 65,000 for two cases.

“Moreover, Honduras was fined a total of CHF 65,000 for two cases, while Albania was fined CHF 50,000, El Salvador CHF 45,000, Italy CHF 30,000, Mexico CHF 30,000, Peru CHF 30,000, Paraguay CHF 25,000, Argentina CHF 25,000, Canada CHF 20,000 and Brazil CHF 20,000 for individual cases,” said the statement.

Some of the recent incidents by fans of the 11 nations included homophobic chants.