Tha Sports Junkies 101

Kyle Busch Wins Indy Xfinity Race


With temperatures in the mid 90’s, the overpowering heat was a big story in the NASCAR Xfinity Series race at the Brickyard. Once Kyle Busch took the green flag, the heat wave was no longer the hottest thing burning up the track.

The 2009 series champion asserted his dominance yet again on Saturday at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in the Lilly Diabetes 250, beating Kevin Harvick in a green-white-checkered finish. Kyle has now won 3 of the 5 Xfinity races held on the 2.5 mile oval in Speedway, IN.

The race utilized a set of duel 20 lap heat races prior to the main event as part of the Nationwide Dash for Cash program. Busch led all 20 laps of the first heat race. Erik Jones led the entire second heat race. The heat races were used to set the starting lineup for the 60 lap feature race. They also determined which 4 drivers would compete in the Nationwide Dash for Cash $100,000 bonus. Eligible were the top 2 finishing series regulars from each heat race. Daniel Suarez and Elliott Sadler were the top 2 eligible drivers from heat one and Jones and Justin Allgaier qualified based on the results of heat two. Allgaier claimed the bonus by virtue of his fifth place finish.

The race was a relatively clean affair for most of the way, with the first caution waving with 12 laps to go when Jones had a flat tire and spun. Jones didn’t make any contact and was able to continue without incurring any damage but was only able to salvage a 22nd place finish. With 6 laps remaining, Ray Black Jr and Harrison Rhodes got together off turn two and spun down, making contact with the inside safer barrier.

Kyle’s win was his 7th of the season in only 11 starts and 83rd of his Xfinity career. He took the win after claiming the pole position earlier in the day. Following Harvick across the line in third place was Paul Menard, Kyle Larson finished fourth, and claiming fifth was Allgaier. The rest of the top ten were Elliott Sadler, Daniel Suarez, Joey Logano, Ty Dillon, and Brandon Jones.