Tha Sports Junkies 101

Kyle Busch Wins Xfinity Series Race At New Hampshire


In the first 23 NASCAR Xfinity Series races at New Hampshire Motor Speedway, 23 different drivers visited victory lane. Then, Kyle Busch started winning there.

Busch picked up his 5th Xfinity win at the 1.058 mile oval in Loudon, New Hampshire in Saturday’s AutoLotto 200. All 5 wins have come in the last 8 Xfinity Series races held there. Busch was relatively unchallenged over much of the race after leading the field to the green flag from his 4th pole position of the year. He remained in front for 190 of the 200 laps, surrendering the lead only during pit stop cycles.

A series of late race cautions kept Kyle from getting too comfortable as Erik Jones made several solid restarts in a valiant effort to overcome his Joe Gibbs Racing teammate’s Toyota. Jones drew alongside Busch on the restart after the 7th and final caution but once Busch cleared the number 20 of Jones, he had just enough to stay in front to claim his 6th win of the season and 82nd of his Xfinity career. Third went to Brad Keselowski, Daniel Suarez finished fourth, and rounding out the top 5 was the Chevrolet of Austin Dillon.

Series regular Ty Dillon saw his chances for the win go by the wayside after contact with Alex Bowman turned Dillon in the outside wall on the backstretch. Bowman, subbing in Sunday’s NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race while Dale Earnhardt Jr recovers from concussion-like symptoms, claimed the incident wasn’t intentional. Dillon, however, wasn’t so convinced. “I’m pretty upset right now. That’s not how you race.” Dillon lamented from the garage. “You don’t turn people down the straightaways.”

Brennan Poole finished sixth, Justin Allgaier took seventh, Bowman eighth, Brendan Gaughan ninth and Elliott Sadler came home tenth on New Hampshire’s “Magic Mile”.

Jones added to his lead as the series points leader with the runner-up finish and officially locked himself into the Chase for the Xfinity Series Championship. The NASCAR Xfinity Series races next at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Saturday July 23rd.