Tha Sports Junkies 101

Managers, Rosters and Game schedule announced for the Brooklyn, N.Y. WBC qualifier

Matt Boetscher/ via Flickr


Press Release | August 26th, 2016

Managers, rosters and game schedule announced for the Brooklyn, N.Y. WBC Qualifier.

Hall of Famer Barry Larkin to manage Team Brazil for second time; All-Star outfielder Steve Finley, 21-Year MLB pitcher LaTroy Hawkins on Team Brazil staff

World Baseball Classic, Inc. (WBCI) today announced the managers, rosters and game schedule for the Brooklyn, New York WBC Qualifier, which will be played September 22nd-25th at MCU Park, home of the Single-A Brooklyn Cyclones of the New York-Penn League. The Qualifier will feature the national teams of Brazil, Great Britain, Israel and Pakistan. The winner of the Qualifier will advance to compete in the 2017 World Baseball Classic, the fourth installment of the tournament featuring many of the world’s greatest players. Earlier this year, teams from Australia, Colombia and Mexico advanced to the 2017 WBC after winning the previous three Qualifiers.

The Qualifier will open on Thursday, September 22nd with a doubleheader featuring Pakistan vs. Brazil and Great Britain vs. Israel. Tickets are available via, (718) 507-TIXX,,,, the MCU Park Box Office and the Citi Field Box Office. Group pricing is available starting at $10 for students and seniors by calling (718) 37-BKLYN. Individual game tickets are $15, while a ticket strip is $60. A ticket strip includes one ticket to each of the six games played in the Qualifier. The complete schedule of games is as follows:

QUALIFIER 4: Brooklyn, New York (MCU Park)

Game Date, Local, ET, Match-up (Home team in bold)
Thur., Sept. 22, 12:00 pm, 12:00 pm, Pakistan vs. Brazil
Thur., Sept. 22, 7:00 pm, 7:00 pm, Great Britain vs. Israel
Fri., Sept. 23, 12:00 pm, 12:00 pm, Israel* vs. TBD
Fri., Sept. 23, 7:00 pm, 7:00 pm, Great Britain* vs. TBD
Sat., Sept. 24, 8:00 pm, 8:00 pm, TBD vs. TBD
Sun., Sept. 25, 6:00 pm, 6:00 pm, Finalist 2 vs. Finalist 1

* Teams will play at listed game time regardless of whether they win or lose their opening game.

Team Brazil will once again be led by Hall of Fame shortstop Barry Larkin, who led the squad to its first WBC appearance in 2013 after winning the Qualifier in Panama City, Panama in November 2012. Larkin has also tabbed former All-Star outfielder Steve Finley as his hitting coach and 21-year veteran pitcher LaTroy Hawkins to be his pitching coach. The 28-man roster features nine players affiliated with Major League Clubs, including left-handed pitcher Edilson Batista (BOS); right-handed pitchers Andre Rienzo (MIA), Rodrigo Takahashi (ARI) and Thyago Vieira (SEA); infielders Christian Lopes (TOR), Tim Lopes (SEA) and Leonardo Reginatto (MIN); outfielder Gabriel Maciel (ARI); and catcher Luis Paz (LAD).
Great Britain will be managed by Liam Carroll, who was named to lead the British team in January. In addition, seven-time All-Star Trevor Hoffman, who compiled 601 career saves during his 18-year Major League career, will serve as the bullpen coach for Great Britain. Great Britain went 1-2 during the 2012 Qualifier played in Regensburg, Germany, which marked the country’s debut in the WBC. Their lone victory came in a 12-5 defeat of the Czech Republic. The 28-man roster features 12 players affiliated with Major League Clubs, including left-handed pitchers Chris Reed (MIA), Michael Roth (TEX) and Blake Taylor (NYM); right-handed pitcher Jacob Esch (MIA); infielders Jasrado Chisholm (ARI), Jordan Serena (LAA) and Kyle Simmons (PIT); outfielders Todd Isaacs (CLE), Reshard Munroe (CIN), Byron Murray (SF) and Champ Stuart (NYM); and catcher Chris Berset (CIN).

Team Israel will be managed by Jerry Weinstein, who serves as the manager of the Cape Cod League’s Wareham Gatemen. Prior to his current role, Weinstein spent nine seasons as a coach in the Colorado Rockies organization. Israel made its WBC debut during the 2012 Qualifying Round and went 2-1, falling to Spain in the final game of the Qualifier. The squad will include 2009 All-Star pitcher and New York native Jason Marquis; former Mets infielders Ike Davis and Josh Satin; and Connecticut native and former Red Sox pitcher Craig Breslow. The team will also feature 20 affiliated players, including left-handed pitchers Alex Katz (CWS), Jared Lakind (PIT), R.C. Orlan (WSH) and Ryan Sherriff (STL); right-handed pitchers Corey Baker (STL), Brad Goldberg (CWS), Tyler Herron (NYM), Dean Kremer (LAD), Troy Neiman (COL), Joey Wagman (OAK) and Josh Zeid (NYM); infielders Scott Burcham (COL), Cody Decker (BOS), Nate Freiman (BOS) and Ty Kelly (NYM); outfielders Zach Borenstein (ARI), Michael Meyers (BOS) and Rhett Wiseman (WSH); and catchers Ryan Lavarnway (TOR) and Nick Rickles (WSH).

Pakistan, which will be making its WBC debut, will be skippered by Pervaiz Shah Khawar. The squad does not have any players affiliated with Major League Clubs on its 28-man roster.

The Qualifier features a six-game, modified double-elimination format. The composition of the pool was determined after venues were selected, with consideration given to competitive balance, existing rivalries and each national team’s geographic location.

The winner of the Brooklyn Qualifier will advance to the 2017 World Baseball Classic and join the 15 countries – Australia, Canada, China, Chinese Taipei, Colombia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Italy, Japan, Korea, Kingdom of the Netherlands, Mexico, Puerto Rico, United States and Venezuela – that have already received invitations based on their performance in the 2013 tournament or in prior Qualifiers. The winner will be part of Pool B, which features the national teams of Chinese Taipei, Korea and the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Pool B is scheduled for March 7th-10th at the Gocheok Sky Dome in Seoul, South Korea.

The Qualifiers were originally introduced prior to the 2013 World Baseball Classic, with games held in Panama City; Regensburg, Germany; Jupiter, Florida; and Taipei, Taiwan during the fall of 2012. The inaugural World Baseball Classic was held in 2006 prior to ensuing editions in 2009 and 2013.


*This is an exact Press Release from MLB