Tha Sports Junkies 101

Masterton Award Nominees Announced

Masterton Award Nominees Announced Lulu at


The 2017 Masterton award finalists have been announced. The Masterton Award is an individual award given out by the NHL. In addition, it is awarded to the NHL player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to ice hockey.

Additionally, those who get the award are often players who have worked their way back from a large injury that are considered “career-ending”.  Also, every team in the NHL will nominate one player from their team for the award.

Bill Masterton, of whom the award is named after, got several serious injuries during his hockey career. Consequently, those injuries resulted in his death. Masterton played for the Minnesota North Stars during his career. Also, the winner will be chosen through a poll of professional hockey writers. In any case, the nominees for the Masterton award are as follows….

Anaheim Ducks – Andrew Cogliano

Arizona Coyotes – Max Domi

Boston Bruins – Zdeno Chara

Buffalo Sabres – Mike Weber

Calgary Flames – Mikael Backlund

Carolina Hurricanes – Derek Ryan

Chicago Blackhawks – Marian Hossa

Colorado Avalanche – Jarome Iginla

Columbus Blue Jackets – Sergei Bobrovsky

Dallas Stars – Radek Faksa

Detroit Red Wings – Henrik Zetterberg

Edmonton Oilers – Patrick Maroon

Florida Panthers – Jaromir Jagr

Los Angeles Kings – Jarome Iginla

Minnesota Wild – Unannounced

Montreal Canadians – Paul Byron

Nashville Predators – Matt Irwin

New Jersey Devils – Andy Greene

New York Islanders – Thomas Greiss

The New York Rangers – Dan Girardi

Ottawa Senators – Craig Anderson

Philadelphia Flyers – Pierre-Edourd Bellemare

Pittsburgh Penguins – Marc-Andre Fleury

San Jose Sharks – Aaron Dell

St. Louis Blues – Ryan Reaves

Tampa Bay Lightning – Steven Stamkos

Toronto Maple Leafs – Morgan Rielly

Vancouver Canucks – Ryan Miller

Washington Capitals – Brett Connolly

Winnipeg Jets – Bryan Little

Who should win?

Honestly, this award can be given to all of the nominees. But, when it comes down to who has the best shot to win, the award almost definitely will be given to Jaromir Jagr.

In fact, at 45 years old, he is the oldest current player in the NHL. Likewise, he is one of the oldest players to ever participate in an NHL game. Throughout his career, he has shown tremendous sportsmanship.

Finally, his age and how long he has been playing clearly show his love for the game. In other words, Jagr is the best example of a class player. For these reasons, he is being singled out as the winner of the 2017 Masterton Award.

There are also several reasons why he may not win the award.

First, he has not gotten any large injury that he had to work to get back from. Second, it may not be considered enough to just play while he is old. Last, it may not be important to give this award to him because he is given so many other awards during his career.

Consequently, it will be no surprise if the award goes to somebody else. Finally, the award will go to whomever sustained the worst injury.