Tha Sports Junkies 101

MLB Announces 2017 Regular Season Schedule

MLB Announces David Torcivia/via Flickr


2017 Campaign to Begin with Three Games on Sunday, April 2nd; Thirteen contests scheduled for traditional Opening Day on Monday, April 3rd; First full slate of 15 games set for Wednesday, April 5th


Major League Baseball today announced its master 2017 regular season schedule, which will begin on Sunday, April 2nd, when the Tampa Bay Rays host the New York Yankees and the Arizona Diamondbacks host the San Francisco Giants (game times to be determined). ESPN will televise each of the opening games in addition to the “Sunday Night Baseball” Opening Night contest, which will be selected in the coming weeks. Thirteen games are currently set for Opening Day on Monday, April 3rd, while the first full slate of 15 contests is scheduled for Wednesday, April 5th.

Opening Day will feature nine divisional match-ups among the 13 games, in addition to an Interleague contest between the host Boston Red Sox and the Pittsburgh Pirates in a renewal of the franchises that met in the inaugural 1903 World Series. Seven games are scheduled for Tuesday, April 4th, before all 30 Clubs take the field on Wednesday.

The final day of the 2017 regular season, featuring 12 divisional games, is scheduled for Sunday, October 1st. Other important dates next season include Jackie Robinson Day on Saturday, April 15th; the first day of the 2017 MLB Draft on Monday, June 12th; and Baseball’s All-Star festivities at Marlins Park in Miami from Sunday, July 9th through Tuesday, July 11th, culminating with the 88th Midsummer Classic.

Please see the accompanying file or visit for the complete 2017 American League and National League regular season schedules.