Tha Sports Junkies 101

Monster Changes Announced for NASCAR’s All Star Race

NASCAR All-Star Race logo NASCARMedia

NASCAR All-Star Race Receives Monster Sized Revamp for 2017 Running


Change has been a constant so far in the 2017 NASCAR season; a new title sponsor, a new championship format, and a new crop of rookie drivers. Add to that list a new format for the All-Star Race.

Starting off is the Monster Energy Open, a preliminary last-chance race to set the final entries for the feature race’s field; scheduled for May 19 at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Those entered in the Open have not secured a position in the All-Star Race by either winning a points race in the past two seasons, being a past champion, or winning the All-Star Race before. The Open will consist of two 20 lap stages followed by a closing 10 lap stage. Winners of each stage transfer on to the main event.

The new format for the Monster Energy All-Star Race is a blast from the past. The 70-lap distance throws it back to the “One Hot Night” All-Star Race, run in 1992. 70 laps are cut into four separate stages; 20, 20, 20, and a 10 lap shootout. The 10 lap dash will feature only 10 competitors, winners of the previous three stages and drivers with the best average finish for the night.

Another twist this year; each team will be granted a set of softer tires, to use at their discretion throughout the event. This move adds emphasis to crew chief strategy decisions, as softer tires equal more grip and more speed.

The main goal for this race is to be the first driver across the line after 70 laps. The race winner will receive a check for $1,000,000.

The previous winners for the All-Star Race include 2017 race winners Jimmie Johnson, Ryan Newman, and Kurt Busch.