Tha Sports Junkies 101

NASCAR Announces Team Charter System For Sprint Cup Series


NASCAR announced a charter system Tuesday for car owners that will guarantee teams spots in races and to give owners a greater voice in the sport and refine the financial aspects of the sport.

“Where we ended up is a good place,” NASCAR Chairman and CEO Brian France said in announcing the charter system during a press conference Tuesday at the Charlotte Convention Center.

“It’s going to create more opportunities for new owners to come into the sport. It’s going to have the ability to field more competitive race teams. That’s great for our fans.” Said Rob Kauffman, chairman of the Race Team Alliance and co-owner of Chip Ganassi Racing:

Charters will be granted to 36 Sprint Cup teams who have ran full time the past 3 years. A charter guarantees a team a spot in every points race. No team may own more than 4 charters at one time and the price is estimated in the 7 figures. The list of teams and the number of charters can be shown below:


  • Hendrick Motorsports
  • Joe Gibbs Racing (once acquires MWR charter)
  • Stewart-Haas Racing (once acquires MWR charter)


  • Roush-Fenway Racing
  • Richard Childress Racing


  • Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates
  • Team Penske
  • Richard Petty Motorsports
  • Front Row Motorsports
  • BK Racing


  • Furniture Row Racing
  • JTG Daugherty Racing
  • Tommy Baldwin Racing
  • Germain Racing
  • HScott Motorsports
  • Premium Motorsports
  • Circle Sport-Leavine Family Racing
  • Go Fas Racing

As noted above, the 19 JGR and 41 SHR teams did not qualify for a charter as they have less than 3 full time seasons, but ave acquired the now defunct Michael Waltrip Racing charters and will be guaranteed a spot for all 36 races.

Some other points of interest from today’s team charter announcement included:

  • The agreement fr a charter is for nine years (five years and a four-year option). Teams remain a part of the agreement as long as they are in “good standing.”
  • Sprint Cup fields will be reduced to 40 cars, eliminating three starting spots. Teams without charters can compete for the remaining spots in the field.
  • A Team Owner Council will be created and have formal input into major decisions, such as rules. Each chartered team will represented.