Tha Sports Junkies 101

NFL Pairs Up With East-West Shrine Game

East West Shrine Game NFL Dick Snell via flickr



The NFL is partnering with the historic East-West Shrine Game to increase development opportunities for coaches and draft-eligible players, the league announced today.

The NFL will supply the coaching staffs for the two teams from among current league assistant coaches whose teams do not advance to the playoffs. The NFL will also provide the game officials for the contest, which features some of college football’s best prospects.

The 92nd annual East-West Shrine Game will kick off at 3 p.m. ET on Saturday, January 21, from Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, Florida and be televised live on NFL Network.

At the conclusion of the NFL regular season, teams will nominate deserving assistant coaches who will be reviewed by a panel that includes NFL Football Operations staff, East-West Shrine Game leadership and two members of the NFL’s General Managers Advisory Committee. Once the head coaches are selected, each head coach will then fill his 12-person staff from among other NFL assistant coaches nominated by the clubs, a key job requirement for head coaches at every level of the sport.

NFL Tickets

Coaches nominated by NFL clubs must be active assistant coaches who display extraordinary teaching and communications skills, and are recognized for their integrity and commitment to excellence in the coaching profession.  The coaches must be accomplished at developing and preparing players to compete in the NFL.

For more than 90 years, some of football’s greatest players and coaches have contributed to the tradition of the East-West Shrine Game, the nation’s first college all-star football game.  Created by the Shriners in 1925, the game is driven by the desire to support Shriners Hospitals for Children in its mission to help children in need of expert medical care.  Participating players make an annual visit to the local Shriners Hospital, visiting children and staff in an experience that they will truly never forget.


Below is the updated list of all of the collegiate players for the East and West teams:

(Updated 1/19/17 at 11:52am)


Gunner Kiel, Cincinnati
Wes Lunt, Illinois
Zach Terrell, Western Michigan

Running backs
Elijah McGuire, Louisiana-Lafayette
Dare Ogunbowale, Wisconsin
Joe Williams, Utah
Justin Davis, USC (injured)

Billy Brown, Shepherd
Austin Carr, Northwestern
Trey Griffey, Arizona
Karel Hamilton, Samford
Blake Jarwin (TE), Oklahoma State
Gabe Marks, Washington State
Taylor McNamara (TE), USC
Michael Roberts (TE), Toledo
Jalen Robinette, Air Force
Jordan Westerkamp, Nebraska (injured)

Offensive linemen
Gavin Andrews (C), Oregon State
Erik Austell (OT), Charleston Southern
Avery Gennesy (OT), Texas A&M
Evan Goodman (OT), Arizona State
Geoff Gray, (G), Manitoba
Tobijah Hughley (C), Louisville
Zach Johnson (G), North Dakota State
Storm Norton (OT), Toledo
Chase Roullier (C), Wyoming
Victor Salako (OT), Oklahoma State
Sam Tevi (OT), Utah
Sean Harlow (OT), Oregon State (injured)

Defensive linemen
Josh Augusta (DT), Missouri
Hunter Dimick (DE), Utah
Darius England (DE), South Carolina
Ralph Green (DT), Indiana
Jerimiah Ledbetter (DE), Arkansas
Avery Moss (DE), Youngstown State
Stevie Tu’ikolovatu (DT), USC
Josh Tupou (DT), Colorado
Deatrich Wise, Jr. (DE), Arkansas
Treyvon Hester (DT), Toledo (injured)
B.J. Singleton (DT), Houston (injured)

Jimmie Gilbert (OLB), Colorado
Kevin Davis (ILB), Colorado State
Paul Magloire (OLB), Arizona
Calvin Munson (OLB), San Diego State
Hardy Nickerson, Jr. (ILB), Illinois
Kenneth Olugbode (ILB), Colorado
Steven Taylor (OLB), Houston (injured)

Defensive backs
Treston DeCoud (CB), Oregon State
Tyquwan Glass (CB), Fresno State
Randall Goforth (S), UCLA
Jadar Johnson (S), Clemson
Ashton Lampkin (CB), Oklahoma State
Leon McQuay III (S), USC
Fabian Moreau (CB), UCLA
Aarion Penton (CB), Missouri
Weston Steelhammer (S), Air Force
Jordan Sterns (S), Oklahoma State
Orion Stewart (S), Baylor
Tedric Thompson (S), Colorado
Ahkello Witherspoon (CB), Colorado (injured)

Austin Rehkow (P/K), Idaho


Nick Mullens, Southern Miss
Cooper Rush, Central Michigan
Alek Torgersen, Pennsylvania
Will Worth, Navy (injured)

Running backs
Marcus Cox, Applachian State
I’Tavius Mathers, Middle Tennessee
De’Veon Smith, Michigan

Quincy Adeboyejo, Mississippi
Antony Auclair, Laval (TE)
Stacey Coley, Miami
Gehrig Dieter, Alabama
Colin Jeter (TE), LSU
Scott Orndoff (TE), Pittsburgh
Eric Saubert (TE), Drake
Tony Stevens, Auburn
Kermit Whitfield, Florida State
DeAngelo Yancey, Purdue
Rodney Adams, South Florida (injured)
Kenny Golladay, Northern Illinois (injured)

Offensive linemen
Lucas Crowley (C), North Carolina
William Holden (OT), Vanderbilt
Dieugot Joseph (OT), Florida International
Kyle Kalis (G), Michigan
Alex Kozan (G), Auburn
Erik Magnuson (OT), Michigan
Jonathan McLaughlin (OT), Virginia Tech
Adam Pankey (G), West Virginia
Joey Scelfo (C), N.C. State
Dan Skipper (OT), Arkansas
Cameron Tom (C), Southern Miss
Kareem Are (G), Florida State (injured)

Defensive linemen
DeAngelo Brown (DT), Louisville
Jason Carr (DT), West Georgia
Bryan Cox (DE), Florida
Matthew Godin (DT), Michigan
Trey Hendrickson (DE), Florida Atlantic
Joey Ivie (DT), Florida
Ejuan Price (DE), Pittsburgh
Karter Schult (DE), Northern Iowa
Jarod “Chunky” Clements, Jr. (DT), Illinois (injured)

Richie Brown (ILB, Mississippi State
Austin Calitro (ILB), Villanova
Javancy Jones (OLB), Jackson State
Andrew King (ILB), Army
Marquel Lee (ILB), Wake Forest
James Onwualu (OLB), Notre Dame
Brooks Ellis (ILB), Arkansas (sick)

Defensive backs
Tony Bridges (CB), Ole Miss
Jamal Carter (S), Miami
Nate Hairston (CB), Temple
Lano Hill (S), Michigan
Jalen Myrick (CB), Minnesota
Anthony Fish Smithson (S), Kansas
Channing Stribling (CB), Michigan
Dymonte Thomas (S), Michigan
Jack Tocho (CB), North Carolina State
Damarius Travis (S), Minnesota
Brad Watson (CB), Wake Forest
Xavier Woods (S), Louisiana Tech
Jeremy Cutrer (CB), Middle Tennessee (injured)

Eric Keena (P), North Texas
Nick Weiler (K), North Carolina