Tha Sports Junkies 101

NFL Player Nominees Announced For 2016 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

Art Rooney sportsmanship dbhaffey via


The NFL announced the nominees for the 2016 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award today, which includes one player from each team.

With the NFL continuing a new, and great, tradition, the third annual Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award nominees have been announced today. Each team nominates a player to represent their organization for this award. The award was created in 2014 to honor the late founding father of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer Art Rooney, Sr.

The award is presented to an NFL player who demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition. The winner of the award is voted on by a panel from the NFL Legends Community. They will select eight finalists, with four players coming from both the AFC and NFC. A few names from the panel that will be voting are Warrick Dunn, Curtis Martin, Karl Mecklenburg, and Leonard Wheeler.

The eight finalists will then be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when the players vote on Friday, December 16th. From the eight finalists, each team’s players will submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner, but a team can’t vote for its own player. The first two players to have won the award have been Larry Fitzgerald and Charles Woodson.

The winner will be selected by the vote of the players and announced during the nationally televised NFL Honors award show on Saturday, February 4th. On the night before the Super Bowl, the winner will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of their choice, along with a trophy that represents the important role that sportsmanship plays in the game and how NFL players that demonstrate integrity and honor on the field serve as role models for players at all levels.

2016 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Nominees

Arizona CardinalsDT Calais Campbell
Atlanta FalconsFB Patrick DiMarco
Baltimore RavensG Marshall Yanda
Buffalo BillsDT Kyle Williams
Carolina PanthersTE Greg Olsen
Chicago BearsLB Sam Ancho
Cincinnati BengalsWR A.J. Green
Cleveland BrownsT Joe Thomas
Dallas CowboysCB Brandon Carr
Denver BroncosLB DeMarcus Ware
Detroit LionsS Glover Quinn
Green Bay PackersLB Julius Peppers
Houston TexansLB Brian Cushing
Indianapolis ColtsRB Frank Gore
Jacksonville JaguarsLB Paul Posluszny
Kansas City ChiefsLB Derrick Johnson
Los Angeles RamsDE Robert Quinn
Miami DolphinsT Branden Albert
Minnesota VikingsCB Terrance Newman
New England PatriotsS Devin McCourty
New Orleans SaintsT Zach Strief
New York GiantsWR Victor Cruz
New York JetsWR Brandon Marshall
Oakland RaidersQB Derek Carr
Philadelphia EaglesRB Darren Sproles
Pittsburgh SteelersLB Arthur Moats
San Diego ChargersQB Phillip RIvers
San Francisco 49ersT Joe Staley
Seattle SeahawksWR Tyler Lockett
Tampa Bay BuccaneersDT Gerald McCoy
Tennessee TitansQB Marcus Mariota
Washington RedskinsQB Kirk Cousins