Tha Sports Junkies 101

NHL reveals rosters for 2017 All-Star Game

NHL reveals rosters for 2017 All-Star Game AJ Batac/via

Standout Rookies Matthews, Laine among 40 players selected for ASG Festivities


With the 2017 Honda NHL All-Star Game about two and a half weeks away, the NHL today announced the 40 players that will represent all four divisions this year.

Rookie sensations Auston Matthews and Patrick Laine highlight the list of players that will be heading to Los Angeles for All-Star Weekend January 28 and 29.

Matthews and Laine currently lead all rookies in scoring with 21 goals each and could have plenty of opportunities to find the back of the net at the All-Star Game.

Like last year, the All-Star Game will be a 3-on-3 tournament composed of teams from each of the league’s four divisions, led by four captains that were voted for by the fans earlier this month.

After competing against each other in the skills competition on January 28 (9 p.m. ET; NBC, SN, TVA Sports), the divisional teams will face-off in semifinal games on January 29 (3:30 p.m. ET; NBC, SN, TVA Sports), with the winners going on to the championship game.

Each division is represented by six forwards, three defensemen and two goalies. Apart from being composed of players from that division, each team will be coached by one of the coaches from their respective division.

The four captains that were chosen to represent each division were Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby (Metropolitan), Montreal Canadiens goalie Carey Price (Atlantic), Nashville Predators defenseman P.K. Subban (Central), and Edmonton Oilers center Connor McDavid (Pacific).

The coaches for each divisional team are as follows: Michel Therrien of the Canadiens (Atlantic), Bruce Boudreau of the Minnesota Wild (Central), John Tortorella of the Columbus Blue Jackets (Metropolitan) and Peter DeBoer of the San Jose Sharks (Pacific).

Here is the full roster for all four teams:



Nikita Kucherov
Brad Marchand
Auston Matthews
Frans Nielsen
Kyle Okposo
Vincent Trocheck


Victor Hedman
Erik Karlsson
Shea Weber


Carey Price
Tuukka Rask



Sidney Crosby
Taylor Hall
Evgeni Malkin
Alex Ovechkin
Wayne Simmonds
John Tavares


Justin Faulk
Seth Jones
Ryan McDonagh


Sergei Bobrovsky
Braden Holtby



Patrick Kane
Patrik Laine
Nathan MacKinnon
Tyler Seguin
Vladimir Tarasenko
Jonathan Toews


P.K. Subban
Duncan Keith
Ryan Suter


Corey Crawford
Devan Dubynk



Connor McDavid
Jeff Carter
Johnny Gaudreau
Bo Horvat
Ryan Kesler
Joe Pavelski


Brent Burns
Drew Doughty
Cam Fowler


Martin Jones
Mike Smith

The Pacific Division won last year’s NHL All-Star Game in Nashville, defeating the Central Division 9-6 in the semifinal and the Atlantic Division 1-0 in the final.

The 2017 All-Star Weekend will be held at the Staples Center in Los Angeles.