Tha Sports Junkies 101

Sauter Wins Martinsville Truck Race


Johnny Sauter won the first race of the 2016 Camping World Truck Series season at Daytona but coming into Martinsville Speedway on Saturday, he hadn’t made a return to victory lane since.

That losing streak is now over.

Sauter held off a spirited charge by Chase Elliott to win the Texas Roadhouse 200 and punched his ticket to the championship finale at Homestead. Sauter grabbed his third win at Martinsville but none more significant than this one in terms of pursuing a series title.

Following Elliott across the line in third was John Hunter Nemechek, fourth went to Christopher Bell, and Timothy Peters took fifth.

The chase competitors were able to run most of the race without an major issues. Then, in the final 50 laps, the trouble began. First, Matt Crafton lost a lap making repairs to his truck. That was, however, until fellow championship contender Ben Kennedy was spun off of turn two and was lightly hit by John Wes Townley. That yellow served as a benefit to Crafton, allowing him to get back on the lead lap. Crafton finished 17th and Kennedy 18th, the only 2 chasers outside of the top ten.

The NASCAR Camping World Truck Series returns to the track on November 4th at Texas Motor Speedway. Live coverage of the Longhorn 350 airs at 8:30 pm ET on FS1.