Tha Sports Junkies 101

Stewart-Haas Racing Switching To Ford In 2017


Stewart-Haas Racing, which has campaigned General Motors vehicles since its inception as a Sprint Cup team more than a decade ago, is switching to Ford next season.

The team, which is fielding Chevrolet this year for Kevin Harvick, Tony Stewart, Kurt Busch and Danica Patrick, will become the second championship-caliber organization to join Ford in the past five seasons. Team Penske left Dodge for Ford in 2013 when Dodge left the sport.

“I am proud of our association with Chevrolet as they helped build our organization into the team it is today,” Stewart-Haas Racing co-owner Tony Stewart said in a release. “This new partnership with Ford allows us to strengthen our position in the sport and ensure the long-term stability and success for everyone who is a part of Stewart-Haas Racing.”

SHR will compete with Ford engines supplied by Roush Yates Engines. It previously had been received chassis and engines from Hendrick Motorsports.

“Motorsports is an extremely challenging environment where in order to maintain success you have to constantly innovate,” said Gene Haas, SHR’s co-owner. “It’s true in NASCAR, and it’s true in business. We’ve enjoyed great success with Chevrolet, but this opportunity with Ford allows us to evolve while continuing to compete at the highest levels of the sport.”